Getting Points off Your License in New York

When you’ve plead or been found guilty of a traffic citation in New York, your license will begin accruing points. Once a certain number of points have been reached, your license is in danger of being suspended or revoked depending on how many citations you’ve received, the severity of the citation, and how often you’ve been cited.

Getting points off your license once they’re imposed is no easy feat, although there are ways it can be done. Read on to learn more about how to remove or reduce points off your license in the state of New York.

How The NY Driver’s License Point System Works

The New York state DMV uses the Driver Violation Point System to assign you points for traffic citations you are issued. Prior to the citation’s points being added to your license, you must be found or have plead guilty to the citation in question.

Your points are calculated based on any violations that have occurred in the last 18 months from the date of your issued citation. If you acquire 11 points or more within an 18 month period, your license will be subject to suspension or revocation for a specific period of time depending on what your citations were for.

Citations that will incur the most points include speeding over 40 miles per hour over the speed limit, using a cell phone while driving, railroad crossing violations, reckless driving, and failing to stop for a school bus.

Benefits Of The Point & Insurance Reduction Program

The Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) course allows drivers with 11 points or more on their driving record to avoid having their license suspended by reducing their points by 4 points.

It’s important to note that this is just for calculation purposes when examining the number of points on your license and does not remove the points or convictions from your driving record.

In addition to the point reduction, you will also be able to save 10% on future auto insurance collision and liability premiums for up to three years after you’ve completed your program.

Information About The Defensive Driving Course

Before you can sign up for a PIRP course, you’ll need to find a program that has been approved by the DMV. You can find an in-person program or find an approved program online.

The course itself will be about 320 minutes in length and will cover topics ranging from driver safety and traffic laws to essential driver behaviors and techniques.

The cost for the PIRP course will vary depending on where you take your course; though you can find programs as low as $29.95.

Other Considerations

Participating in a PIRP course will not solve your problems. Many high-risk drivers believe that taking a defensive driving program will allow them to reduce any future points they might accrue or avoid a mandatory license suspension or revocation.

Some drivers even think they can get out of paying the driver responsibility assessment fee required every three years and totaling a minimum of $300 but as much as $750 when you accumulate 6 points or more within an 18 month period.

None of these assumptions are accurate. The PIRP course will just reduce your total points by 4 for calculation purposes only so that you can avoid a license revocation or suspension.

Consult With A New York Traffic Ticket Lawyer

If you’re hoping to avoid points on your driver’s license that could impact the status of your license, seek help from a skilled New York traffic ticket lawyer who can help you navigate the DMV PIRP course requirements or answer any questions you might have about your case.