Defense Strategies for Texas DWIs

The state of Texas has strict laws for driving while intoxicated. The police can charge you with a DWI if they suspect you’re drinking and driving, even if you aren’t. A first-time DWI offense in Texas can result in a fine of up to $10,000, up to 180 days in jail, and losing your driver’s license for up to one year. To avoid the maximum penalties, you must hire a Dallas, Houston, or Fort Worth DWI lawyer and fight your case.

You may think it’s impossible to avoid a conviction once the police have charged you with a DWI in Texas, but there are many defense strategies you can use. Having a strong legal team will increase your chances of reducing or dismissing your charges in court. Lawyers know how to present your case in the best light and negotiate with the prosecutor and judge.

DWI Stop Defense

One defense strategy you can use to challenge your DWI in court is to question why the police stopped you. The police must have a lawful reason for making a traffic stop before they can arrest you under the suspicion of drinking and driving.

If your tags were expired or you ran a stop sign, the police may have a lawful reason to pull you over. But if you were obeying all the rules of the road when the police stopped you, it’s possible to dismiss your charges, even if the police gather evidence of a DWI after the fact.

DWI Test Defense

Texas police officers may use various DWI testing methods to gain probable cause you were drinking and driving. If the police use field sobriety tests, such as asking you to walk in a straight line or asking you to stand on one leg, this evidence can be refuted in court. Field sobriety tests have no scientific basis. Any driver can fail these tests regardless of whether they’re under the influence.

If the police officers use a breathalyzer to get your blood alcohol concentration level, it’s possible to refute the breathalyzer reading. Breathalyzer tests can be inaccurate with a margin of error of up to 50 percent.

Don’t Be Afraid to Fight Your Case

It can be scary to get charged with a DWI in Texas. But even if you think you’ll lose your case, it’s important to defend yourself. A lawyer will have strategies you may have never thought of. Even if you make a plea bargain with the prosecution, you’ll likely come out with a better sentence. You have the right to a fair trial and legal representation. Don’t take that for granted.